Skip to main content Skip to bottom nav

blockage

affableStrings4654 September 30th, 2023

So I'm an artist. I draw and paint, mostly. I have been doing digital art more often recently, but i do have a day job and lots of adult responsibilities. I also have depression.

It's making it extremely difficult to finish pieces of art. I have a goal of trying to do one digital painting a month, and I"m always struggling to meet it. It used to be really easy for me to create things when i was younger. I got to spend a lot of mental energy on my art. I think part of the reason i struggle with it nowadays is that i am too critical of my own work. i am afraid of messing up or having my art look weird.

perfectionism leads to avoidance. i don't know. it doesn't feel good. I want to be back to making things without the pressure that i put on myself. but I also don't know how to stop.

bestVase7265 October 1st, 2023

What would happen if you focused on making something different for a while? Sometimes being creative in a different areas will loosen up those juices in the area where they usually flow. @affableStrings4654

Tinywhisper11 October 1st, 2023

@bestVase7265 this is very true. I do all sorts of stuff. Making models and diorahmas, painting, woodburning all sorts. Even making toys and tunnels and play houses for my baby bunny. Art is supposed to be fun, so try keep it interesting ❤

bestVase7265 October 2nd, 2023

That is so many different kinds. Go you! You will find something that is easier for now. @Tinywhisper11

Tinywhisper11 October 1st, 2023

@affableStrings4654 awww hugs you ❤ I'm actually struggling with finishing any art I start at the moment. I'm not a perfectionist I can't be. Cause tw) I have limited movement ,I'm half paralysed and half of my fingers are missing. So I'm not sure how you get out of the mindset you are in. I'm just taking a break from art till it becomes fun again. Maybe you need to just take a little break too ❤❤