Skip to main content Skip to bottom nav

Non-textbook symptoms of bpd?

friendlyKite2529 October 22nd, 2021

Would anyone be able to help me recognize more symptoms of bpd? I have been diagnosed with depression (and bulimia) but I want to go back and see if I have bpd. Some symptoms align but I’m trying not to self diagnosis or get too anxious. I tried diagnostic tools but I know it’s not a diagnosis. Just curious. Lina anxious and not seeing the psychiatrist in a long time.

RarelyCharlie October 22nd, 2021

@friendlyKite2529 I'm not an expert, but I've read that there can be a lot of overlap between depression and BPD, and it's also possible to be diagnosed with both at the same time. Depression can be a very complex disorder with many symptoms, including anxiety. So what you're trying to find out is a very complicated matter, even for professionals.

You mention that you've seen a psychiatrist, but you don't mention what treatment you're having for your depression and bulimia. Are you having treatment, and is it working? If you are somehow able to discover that you have BPD instead (or in addition), would that help you to recover?

Charlie

friendlyKite2529 OP October 22nd, 2021

so I am doing an anti depressant and therapy. I do see improvement but I also see a long way to go and sometimes I feel hopeless that I’ll ever get better

@friendlyKite2529 I suppose it's possible feeling hopeless could be caused by your depression. Is your therapist hopeful? Have you been able to discover the original cause of your depression and begin work on changing it?

Charlie

kindTurtle3738 October 22nd, 2021