Skip to main content Skip to bottom nav

Is this a disorder?

Second2Rise February 3rd, 2020

I'm having trouble when it comes to eating. Sometimes it makes me want to throw up or it just doesn't look like food. I love food, and can usually eat a lot, but recently it just looks like plastic. Sometimes I can eat, but I usually can't. Sometimes I have to force it down.

i just want to know if this is a thing?

RarelyCharlie February 3rd, 2020

@Second2Rise I am not an expert, but it seems like it could be related to a type of eating disorder known as Avoidant Restrictive Food Intake Disorder (ARFID). One of the symptoms is "avoidance based on the sensory characteristics of food". For more information, see: ARFID

Charlie

Shanna February 4th, 2020

@Second2Rise I'm sorry you're struggling with this! Even if someone's symptoms don't meet the criteria for an eating disorder, they can still be classified as "disordered eating patterns" which it sounds like you're experiencing. Sometimes other mental health issues like depression and anxiety can affect appetites and taste preferences as well. How long has this been occurring? How distressing is it for you on a scale of 1-10? If you find that even with forcing yourself to get food down you are very much under your caloric/energy needs for the day, or you notice weight loss or any other physical symptoms, I'd encourage you to see your primary physician and they can refer you to the appropriate providers and hopefully get to the bottom of it. It's unclear to me as a non-medical-provider whether what you're experiencing is more of a physical issue or a mental issue so it might be good to get a professional perspective if you're able. Wishing you the best!

indigoLake9858 February 5th, 2020