Skip to main content Skip to bottom nav

Starting over in 50s = overwhelming

anonuser2023 August 21st, 2023

I'm fairly new to 7cups and wasn't sure which forum to post in - Depression (because this is really messing with my head) or Over 50s (since I think that is adding pressure in this situation) - but this seems like a good spot. I've had a fairly non-traditional job history - lots of tourism and customer service work in my 20s & 30s, built a real estate career in my 40s but got burnt out. I've tried a few new things since (did an MA, worked in TV). Now I'm stuck with the feeling that I did everything wrong because I don't have a current career and am not set up for retirement. The thought of starting a new career at this point is daunting, and I've lost a lot of self-confidence. Such as, maybe I'm not successful because I'm not as smart as I thought I was, or I'm unable to commit to anything. I also feel so limited because the cost of rent / buying has increased so much that I hardly even know where to live. I have a history of jumping into things too quickly, so I'm trying to take some time to consider my next moves but I feel lethargic and uninterested in anything. I watch a lot of TV and it just feels like wasting time.

I just needed to get that off my chest, so thanks for listening.

toughTiger6481 August 21st, 2023

@anonuser2023

You are not alone ....... any time someone is going through a transition and starting over or something new they have those feelings of ...... what should I do? how can i get this done ASAP because honestly age is in the back of your mind ....... what ifs often lead people to take the procrastination road.

start small do one thing a day ........ network with old and new friends and acquaintances do not talk your self out of things but talk yourself up ..... you have a lot of life experience that is helpful.

RogueOne1983 August 22nd, 2023

@anonuser2023