Skip to main content Skip to bottom nav

Update?

CaliConfined October 10th, 2023

Howdy, 

I felt the urge to write on here. BD1 diagnosis 5 + years and it's been a roller coaster, to say the least. I have been on a new medication Abilify for a little over a month with some positives like minor suppression of my irritability/anger. I have a doc appt here soon on the 19th with a new doctor (due to insurance) and am eager to see his thoughts/direction.

I quit my last job in March of this year in a severely agitated manic state. My unemployment just ran out from it (My employer was nice enough to lay me off). On top of that, I have 4 more months until my driver's license comes off suspension from a DUI in July 2022 (still ashamed of that) - so that makes a job nearly impossible until then. I fear quite often what I am going to do once my license comes back. I have a bachelor's degree and some experience in a few industries but there are gaps in my resume from 3 episodes in the last 5-6 years. You start to lose hope because you know more episodes are coming. The unpredictability of a work environment + the instability that comes out over time is a scary mix. It's not fun not knowing where money will come from or if you can even work all together consistently for it to matter. 

Lastly, I am 28 years old and live at home with my parents and I am very insecure about this. Friends of mine I grew up with are buying houses... It humiliates me that I haven't been able to succeed independently, but I don't see it any other way with the severity of some of my episodes. These days, I journal and workout a lot. I spend time with my pup and try to keep calm while time passes. It's tough, but it's been worse. If you took the time to read this, thank you.

CaliConfined OP October 10th, 2023

@CaliConfined

Forgot to add - I've been sober from alcohol + marijuana for 7 months this week. A must in my case. 

spicyavocado3788 October 11th, 2023