Skip to main content Skip to bottom nav

I feel so uncomfortable when I'm complimented.

funnyDrum5217 August 28th

My parents convinced me I was bad. I was the problem. Dad called me manipulative and a liar. My mom said I just knew how to drive people to hurt me.

I'm a teacher now. Today, I sent a parent who hates the school an email discussing plans for her son. She said her heart sang when she saw I was her son's teacher. I had a former student stop me when I was walking home to tell me he hates reading less because of me. These are undeniably great things, but I shy away from it. These moments make me want to crawl out of my own skin.

I know my parents were wrong. My father even apologized for it, saying he was wrong and he was projecting his self image onto me. Mom maintains I made her hit me. That I just know how to make people hate me. But.... This usually isn't true. It's actually exceedingly rare to find someone who dislikes me. I've met over 700 people since I left home (again, teacher) and only a handful of kids or adults don't like me. But something deep inside me never let go of what they put on me.

Can anyone guide me on how to handle compliments?

DreamsofAuratus August 30th

It sounds like your parents have majorly impacted how you perceive yourself. This is understandable. They were your guardians, and it was their responsibility to protect you. Instead, they hurt you, and one of them seems like she still hurts you to this day. I can imagine these feelings are very difficult to handle, especially when you are forced to face them whenever you are shown kindness.