Skip to main content Skip to bottom nav

My rank dropped contrary to everyone’s expectations

ryxlyy January 21st, 2023

I would really appreciate to hear your thoughts about this entry 💗

I am currently a senior, a candidate for valedictorian.

I was first place during the first term grading but my rank dropped to second place. I thought I was okay at first.

sSome teachers were shocked about my rank and were worried about my reaction to it. I was the only one the congratulated as a form of comfort. I didn’t understand it but slowly I realized that I may be receiving pity.

The teachers, my classmates, batchmates, schoolmates, friends and family saw how hard I worked.

while I was at school, I studied everywhere and during my free time. I studied at the school bathroom, canteen, waiting area, and also while walking and eating.

there were times I barely ate and barely slept just to study and complete tasks.

I know that no one is mocking my hard work but because of my previous school’s bullying, I started to think they’re mocking me like, “she works so hard but she still isn’t first” or “she’s a try hard”

im afraid that the rank I thought I could appreciate just become another source for mocking although that didn’t happen (yet idk)

I was never confident with my abilities to begin with, I also don’t regret working hard since I think I’m not naturally smart. I just don’t wanna go back to the point where I feel ashamed that I worked so hard only to achieve so little or far from peoples expectations. I’m also a people pleaser just to make it worse.

the reason why I failed is about so many things; from my uncooperative, unresponsive, and always absent research groupmates, exerting my body to practice the dance for a school activity even thought my health is not that good to begin with