Skip to main content Skip to bottom nav

Post Breakup

sensitiveSuare637 August 24th

Hey! It's my first time writing and why I am writing this? not sure, but I guess I just to let out the thoughts I am feeling right now and maybe I can help someone in some way. 

How am I doing after my breakup? It's a mixture. Sometimes I feel free,  but her memories hold me back. Sometimes I am so involved in my work, but as soon as I am free, waves of memories with force come at me. I am trying to take it slow but god it's hard.

The relationship ended, let's say in a very aggressive manner. The relationship was toxic, at least for me. I know how the fights with her affected my whole day. We dated for about 6-7 months, most of which were just fights. It was my first, and god I am so into her, that I forgot myself. I was so attached to her that I completely forgot myself, my respect, my peace, my space. But this ending was long due, I was just trying to hold to a rope. What did I learn? trust your instincts. I always felt that something was wrong, Efforts were not equal and that person was distant. Usually, my thinking was labeled as "overthinking", which I might be doing in some cases. I trusted her words more than mine. But why did I get so attached to her I wonder? What was she giving me that I couldn't let go? Was it peace? no, Was it support? maybe but she made me feel like something is wrong with me so NO. Was she giving me love? not sure or was she just filling the voids of my insecurity? or at least I thought she was. I don't have an answer as to why I was attached to her yet.

I reflect on this relationship and I realize how insecure I am. How did I get dependent on someone who was completely destroying me? How I compared myself to her past exes because I was not getting the love they got. I Always BLAMED myself. So clearly I needed to work on things. I know I am more than enough. I loved her and that's my power. But first I need to love myself.