Skip to main content Skip to bottom nav

Anyone happily married in a sexless relationship?

lifeisbeautiful37 February 13th, 2021

I’ve been married 16 years and want my husband to consider agreeing to have a sexless marriage. For the majority of our marriage, we probably have sex 1-3 times each month. We are both comfortable in our marriage. We enjoy watching tv, going out to dinner and sometimes movies together. I would like more conversation, and he would like more sex. I feel we cannot meet each others needs in these 2 areas, as we have always tried but not succeeded very well. I have been considering a divorce for the past 11 months, and we talked about giving our relationship 4 months to see if we can improve things. After that I told him I may want to take a 2 month break from the relationship to think. We have 3 children (13, 9 and 6). A great part of me would like to divorce and be my own woman again, and either live life on my own terms, or find another man whom I could give all of myself physically to and he emotionally to me. Has anyone on here mutually agreed to a sexless marriage? I’ve heard them described as “parenting marriages”, when the romantic and physical elements of the marriage is put aside and the spouses focus on raising the kids and having a happy home. I am wondering if my husband can give up his desire for sex with me, and if I can therefore give up my desire for an emotional connection with him. This would not be very fulfilling for either of us, but it could take away the expectations we have on each other that we both have not been able to meet. That way we could stay married until our youngest is grown (12 more years), or you never know we may be ok with what we have. Anyone have experience with this, or any thoughts??

vash151 February 14th, 2021