Skip to main content Skip to bottom nav

Parents divorce affecting holidays

courteousOcean9942 November 20th, 2023

My parents recently split up and now that the holiday season is starting it’s beginning to affect things big time. This is my first time having to choose who I want to spend the holidays with and I just don’t want to choose. I hate the idea of spending the holidays without one of my parents, I’d rather just not celebrate at all. No matter what I pick one of them will be upset and I don’t want to cause any trouble. I just don’t know what to do. :(

Mya000 November 20th, 2023

@courteousOcean9942 

Hello, I'm really sorry to hear that you're facing such a challenging situation, especially during the holiday season. It's completely understandable that the recent separation of your parents is making this time particularly difficult for you.

Having to navigate the holidays while feeling torn between your parents is undoubtedly a tough position to be in. It's clear that you care deeply for both of them, and the idea of causing any distress to either is understandably distressing for you. One suggestion could be to consider a rotation, spending one holiday with one parent and the next with the other. This way, you can ensure that you're sharing meaningful moments with both of them without the pressure of having to choose.

It's important to remember that the situation you're facing is not your responsibility, and your parents are understanding individuals who likely want what's best for you. They may appreciate your honesty about your feelings and the desire to navigate this period in a way that feels comfortable for everyone involved.

Another suggestion could be to have an open and honest conversation with both of your parents about your feelings. Expressing your desire to spend time with both of them and your concerns about causing any trouble might help them understand your perspective.