Skip to main content Skip to bottom nav

Narcissistic Personality Disorder Forum Changes - And A Reminder of Guidelines

AffyAvo July 6th, 2021

Please keep this section a supportive one, it's primary purpose is for those to get support related to their own NPD and for others to give them support. See the Personality Disorders Subcommunity Guidelines Here

Educational resources and other resources may also be shared, please be mindful of avoiding stigmitizing language. My opinion is person first langague may be beneficial for those types of posts. There is also a difference between diagnostic critiera, the difficulties a disorder may cause and stereotypes.

I am far from an expert when it comes to NPD, what I know comes from a bit of reading and it's not something I've gone into in any depth. Drawing from what I know about disorders in general though, is a disorder affects people differently, even when put into subtypes, there are going to be differences for each individual. Triggers vary, individual relationship vary, stressors vary, etc.

Finally a reminder of the 7 cups community guidelines:
Remain professional, kind, and respectful towards one another.
Even if you do not get along with an individual listener, member, or guest it is up to you to act appropriately, step away and not engage. It is up to you to put yourself in situations where you can act in this manner.
Do not engage in hateful behaviors of any kind.
Showing hate towards any gender identity, sexual orientation, disability, religion, racial or cultural background or imposing your view point on any of these items on another user is forbidden.

Xe made some great points on avoiding stigmitizing languauge, please keep in mind, particularly when posting in the Narcissistic Personality Disorder section.

Patients" Implies someone who has to be treated, i.e. presumed as wrong.