Skip to main content Skip to bottom nav

Finding purpose

CatDude September 4th, 2022

I have had ongoing mental health issues for decades now. Much of my history includes self harm. I sometimes think about what I should be doing with my life as in maybe trying to help others who may have had similar difficulties.

That all sounds well and good but heres the thing, so many other people already do these things so I think to myself "who do heck am I to think I can make any significant difference?". It would be nice to contribute something meaningful to society but I am just a nobody. I have no friends, my experiences probably aren't of any interest to anyone, and maybe I'd make a really rubbish listener. I mean like being a listener here: it would good to help people, but what if I am just really no good at helping others?

So where does one start with mental health volunteering? If you don't believe in yourself does that just mean you should not entertain the idea. I suppose the little voice in my head tells me I'd only fail anyway and to even consider these things is getting ideas above my station.

AmyMir6 September 4th, 2022
I can relate a lot to you. I have a lot of mental health issues myself and history with self harm. I believe whenever we have histories with ourselves and would like to try helping others, we are able to succeed. Even if it's just to say that we understand a little bit what they are going through. Sometimes that's all we/they need.
RarelyCharlie September 5th, 2022

@AmyMir6 I agree. People who have been through a lot, even if their difficulties are ongoing, can definitely be effective helping others.

Becoming a listener at 7 Cups can be a good place to start, but I think our training here is lightweight. It's also important not to get discouraged if some chats don't go well. There will certainly be members here you can help, but no listener can help everyone.

Charlie

AmyMir6 September 5th, 2022