Skip to main content Skip to bottom nav

Being Honest *almost certainly triggering*

Lilibuth12 May 14th, 2018

So I am going to try being honest with myself on here. I am not sure if this will help or hinder me, but maybe its worth a try.

Who am I?
I am a 20-something year old professional programmer, who loves animals (kittens!), her family and gardening. I have a boyfriend of 4+ years who's been with me through thick and thin. I am autistic and my face rarely matches how I feel or what I want to express, I find online easier because you don't need to be confused by me laughing and smiling while writing this.

I am a sister, daughter, partner and friend to a few. I am passionate, hopeful, foolish and determined. I am depressed, scared, tired and frustrated. I am an ex drug user and recovering alcoholic. I was a self harmer for many years and have struggled with eating disorders for much of my life.

I have PTSD and panic attacks on trains, buses, at my house, at work, in the toilets alone. I can also be extremely level headed when required and I am bouncy and loud when excited.

I have an excelent relationship with my parents despite the fact they abused me for most of my life. I have nightmares about my sister killing herself in front of me, though she is still alive. I still remember begging her to eat, and bandaging up the cuts. I remember spending pocket money on plasters.

I was the 18 year old so determined to prove everyone else wrong I allowed myself to get into a very abusive relationship where I was emotional, physically and sexually assaulted. I stayed for a year so they couldn't tell me I had failed.

I am a daughter blaming her parents for not teaching her its okay to say no. I blame them because then I didn't even know I could say no to other people, I didn't even consider it as an option because the potential hurt was not worth the argument.