Skip to main content Skip to bottom nav

Should I Withdraw from University?

HorrendousHexapod April 15th, 2023

I’m just gonna get to the point with this post. I am a Uni student currently in my fourth year of study and am halfway through my first semester on break. Over the past few months, however, I feel as though my mental health has been deteriorating in ways that have been negatively affecting my work.

As of now I have currently had a meeting with a psychiatrist regarding my personal struggles and my worries, and I’ve even visited a doctor regarding a possible diagnosis for ADHD. Normally I find myself sometimes being unable to pay attention in classes, but as of this semester I feel like I have been unable to focus on anything no matter how much I make an attempt to, and I’ve also noticed that I’ve missed a lot of details regarding Uni work and emails that I’m not sure how I could’ve missed. I’ve just felt so out-of-it, more so than usual, and I don’t know why.

I also don’t particularly enjoy any of my subjects and only picked them because I didn’t have any other options available. In one of the subjects, I struggle to complete the work because there are times where I don’t fully understand what I’m supposed to be doing, in another I struggle because seemingly no one else can understand the subject, and the third subject I struggle with because I rarely ever have classes for it, so I sometimes focus on other subjects instead.

I just don’t know what to do right now. I don’t want to completely drop out, I only want to temporarily withdraw, but part of me is not confident that I will pass at all this semester if I stay behind. I’m partially worried that if I withdraw for the semester, the work groups I’m in will struggle in my absence, but the only group that I’m in at the moment is working on laboratory work and, if I’m being honest, I only feel like a burden in these lab sessions because I’m usually relegated to just preparing materials.