Skip to main content Skip to bottom nav

Struggling with guilt attached to OCD intrusive thoughts

kindBranch5968 August 27th, 2019

Hey everyone,

I've been dealing with Pure-O OCD since I was around 10 years old, but i've found that its actually gotten worse in these past two years. I'm currently in my last year of high school, having moved to a new school this year so I think that the stress caused by this might be contributing to it. I'm finding the guilt and shame caused by my intrusive thoughts at times overwhelming and debilitating and I'm not sure how to lesson this without continually reassuring myself that the obsessional/intrusive thoughts are not a reflection of myself, but are a misfiring in the brain/ just fear and anxiety. I find this cycle of constant self-doubt and rumination exhausting but I'm not sure how else to reduce the anxiety that I feel when these thoughts come up?

This guilt feels suffocating and I sometimes struggle to believe that I am truly a good person, despite logically knowing that they are a symptom of OCD. At times the guilt attached to these intrusive thoughts also makes me feel like I don't deserve happiness, peace or love. I find that I avoid situations that trigger these thoughts which I know ensures that the thoughts reoccur, but I feel that the anxiety I feel when I'm in triggering situations is too much to handle, and so I keep avoiding, ruminating and scouring the web in search of posts that reassure me that I am a good person.