Skip to main content Skip to bottom nav

How To Feel Gender

EirwenAri September 2nd, 2023

I'm a nonbinary transmasc, which to me means that I am both nonbinary and trans, floating under both umbrellas, not entirely too far off from demiboy. However, I am AFAB and have genetically large hips and big breasts (38DD, seriously??) I am also still closeted from my highly homophobic and transphobic family.

Any ideas on how to make me feel more androgynous and/or masculine?

Barltik2065 September 6th, 2023

@EirwenAri

Hmm, I am by no means an expert on these topics but a question does remain, ..

Is there something preventing you from feeling androgynous and/or masculine?

Why I ask, some people I have known and meet over the decades are indifferent. I have known of people whom are super masculine (in my opinion) but are gay. I have known men whom are extremely fem but are straight. Which then brings in the stereotypes (which I am not a fan) so.

What does a androgynous and/or masculine suppose to feel like?

EirwenAri OP September 8th, 2023

@Barltik2065

For me, androgyny is when I look in the mirror and can see a clear feminine and masculine look to me almost psyche myself (or others) out and make one have to look twice to try and guess if the person is masculine or feminine - androgyny. The things getting in the way are A) Fairly long hair B) A very feminine figure. Things getting in the way of major alterations to those are very homo/transphobic parents (and that small matter of me still closeted)

Barltik2065 September 8th, 2023

@EirwenAri

Ahhhhh

You are the expert of you. You know what you require and will help you to be more happy. Your feelings are valid. We are here for you.

My father was a large advocate and supporter against the LGBT community (Q+ and other designations didn’t exist back then). If my father knew, I doubt it would have changed. If anything I bet he would have been worse. So I can empathize with you in the regards of homophobic.