Skip to main content Skip to bottom nav

Confusion about the future

alicethefrog September 16th, 2023

so this is going to be me venting about what has been on my mind about the future. I am genuinely thankful for every single piece of advice:) Feel free to share your stories and experiences about this topic as well!

Right now, I am in my final year. I have (somehow) navigated through school and all that crap without having a major breakdown. However, instead of that, during the previous years, I have continued to feel more and more insecure and confused. Because everything is happening so fast. One moment, I am just, you know, a kid, and right now, I have to take decisions I feel like I am nowhere capable of taking. And I am feeling more and more overwhelmed, so I don’t take any long-term decisions, which makes me feel even more overwhelmed.

I am really, really terrified, to be honest. I am terrified of taking my finals in half a year, I am terrified of what comes after, I am terrified of adulthood in general. But mostly, I am terrified of taking those important decisions and taking the wrong ones, and growing up doing just some stuff to get around, and then one day, I will just realize I have wasted most of my life doing just something. I don’t *** want that.

One reason for that is probably my age. I am still a Minor. I am younger than everyone else in my year and it makes me feel like garbage. I do not feel emotionally mature enough to decide what to do for the rest of my life. I feel like an effing 6 year old being thrown into the ocean, not knowing how to swim. I don’t feel ready. But the thing is, if I wait until I feel ready, I will never take any decisions. I am garbage in taking good, important decisions. Or at least I feel like I am.