Skip to main content Skip to bottom nav

Narcissism

Vega7779 November 14th, 2023

hey there

I feel horrible for saying this, but I have to because I'm hopeless now. I'm a sophomore in college, and I have no life of my own.

My parents provided what you can call a good life, I had a roof above my head, food on the table everyday, clothes to keep me warm and we always paid the bills. 

They were emotionally unavailable, I couldn't tell them I was sad because the first time I did, they said I had no reason to be because others had it worse. they said I was ungrateful because they sacrificed so much for me. That was the last time I told them how I really felt. But I appreciate their sacrifices, a lot.

But the thing is, they're so controlling, to the point where I feel like I'm suffocating. 

I'm 20, can't go out alone, can't hang out with friends, can't smile at my phone, can't talk to guys, and the list goes on...

I became an introvert because it was easier pretending that I don't like going on rather than feeling I'm forced to stay home. I developed severe anxiety, a horrible social anxiety, attachment issues and people pleasing habits.

I had bad relationships with people because I didn't know how to set boundaries.

I wanted to get an ear piercing and was so excited that I kept telling my mother everyday for the past 5 months. last week, I went with her to ask how much it would cost, and she agreed she'd let me get one. I was busy with college so I didn't have time until yesterday. On my way home from college, I went and did the piercing and I was so happy I felt like a 10 year old again.

She called me and I told her I got a piercing and she got so mad I had to hung up the phone because the doctor heard her yelling through the phone.