Skip to main content Skip to bottom nav

BED Coping mechanisms *Possible trigger warning*

Jeta41 July 9th, 2017

I'm still very new to this eating disorder. I still haven't really wrapped my head around it. But I'm starting to notice a few of my triggers. For instance, stress is a big one for me. Makes me crave fried food and a lot of it. And when my self esteem starts bottoming out I crave sweets and once I start I can't stop. This is making me wonder what some of your triggers are?

As far as coping mechanisms, I don't have any. Could you share some of yours with me?

Good vibes and quick healing, friends.

Hysterria July 9th, 2017

Not just stress but specifically, work stress. For some reason, as soon as something bad happens, I find myself wanting to turn to food and the fact that I work in a bakery doesn't help either.

Also, my triggers aren't always negative and this is what really confused me for the longest time. We always perceive triggers to be bad things like work stress or a bad break-up. I've found that I'm triggered by the feeling of doing something good and wanting to celebrate. Aced my midterm? Let's celebrate! Worked hard and finished cleaning my apartment? Celebrate!

To stay away from all of this, I find I have to constantly keep myself in a routine and always, always, ALWAYS have "safe meals" prepped. I find as soon as I become unorganized and don't have a meal plan prepped for the day or at least an idea of what I'm going to do (especially for dinner time), that's when I'm triggered and I cave. And of course, one evening of binges turns into two, three, four days and then next thing you know, I'm a week into it.

So for me, triggers are basically any "extreme" emotion or energy, both positive and negative, that I need to let out.

Jeta41 OP July 12th, 2017