Skip to main content Skip to bottom nav

Confusing times (vent)

VCCjusttalk August 19th

I just dont know how i feel about art anymore, and i am a soon to graduate in a art career... I just dont feel like i am good enough, i dont think i am ready. What am i actually going to do afterwards? I don´t know if i want to only be an art teacher, but i also know is the most probable way to make an income, and also i am good at it. Like, i know for a fact that i could be a good teacher and help others that way.

I have mixed feelings about recognition and "success", on the one hand i know it is not important, on the other, i still have this feeling of being a fraud and a failure if i dont "make it" as an artist. I remember when i just wanting to do nice things, i feel like i am lost. 

I think it all boils down to my low self esteem, i hate needing validation from others, but i cant give myself permission to be free, never.

All of these years studying, i dreamed about this moment, about being free from classes and having time to ACTUALLY improve my art, but now i am scared i will never be able to... 

I just dont want to feel like i wasted my life away, but i am afraid i will never be satisfied with myself, i will never be enough.

Is also like there are so many routes and ways my future could go, and i am still young (21), but at the same time im afraid to settle, to chose one thing and then missing everything else, then feel like i wasted everything. 

And i just hear these voices inside my head, from people i´ve met, friends, teachers, they are thinking to themselves about how much of a dissapointment i am, about why did i study such a career when i am not good enough, why did i study such a career when i was just going to end up teaching after all? 

And i know is all ego and narcissism, and maybe i am just being inmature about it.