Skip to main content Skip to bottom nav

Overwhelmed at work all the time

friendlyChestnut3812 August 9th, 2023

Hi everyone! This is my first post and looking for some advice. I’ve been working at my company for almost 10 years and currently am a manager. I’ve been experiencing higher levels of stress for the past year because of the increased workload. I’ve had to help with some tasks myself plus lead and work extra hours, since my team is understaffed (we’re in a hiring freeze so getting a new person isn’t an option). Lately it’s been getting to the point where I’m feeling burned out all the time, cry at least once a week at work and struggle to relax when I’m not working. On top of it, my job wants to me to study and get certifications in my free time since I don’t have time during work hours. I used to love work but now it’s something I dread. I generally don’t feel excited for much anymore. How can I can help myself and my family?

CalmRosebud August 9th, 2023

@friendlyChestnut3812

It sounds like you're going through a challenging time, and it's understandable to feel overwhelmed and burnt out. It's important to prioritize your mental and physical health in this situation, as well as manage your workload and responsibilities. Here are some steps you can take to help yourself and your family:

♥️🦁 Set boundaries: You mentioned that you've been working extra hours and doing tasks yourself. It's essential to set boundaries between work and personal life to prevent burnout. When you're off work, try to distance yourself from work-related tasks and focus on self-care activities.

♥️🦁 Communicate with your supervisor: Have a conversation with your supervisor about the workload and stress you're experiencing. Share your concerns about feeling overwhelmed and the impact it's having on your mental and physical health. Consider discussing ways to share responsibilities with other team members, offload tasks, or request additional support to help manage your workload.