Skip to main content Skip to bottom nav

Hidden Disability at Work.

HatsEatYou September 2nd, 2023

I'm curious what other people decide about if and when to disclose a hidden disability. I have recently been though the ordeal of job hunting and I have autism and dyslexia. I struggled with when the right time to disclose my disabilities was. For the first few months I avoided it worried that it might be disadvantageous to me. But as the time went on I thought that it's a huge part of me, it will effect my ability to work in some ways but also that employers having the knowledge might demonstrate my potential. For instance I have a degree in English despite having dyslexia. I feel this demonstrated some amount of tenacity and that even in a field directly impacted by my disabilities I was successful. So I started including it in my CV. No one I was contacted by commented on it at all until I got the job I am now working at. Where I was explicitly told that they were most interested in interviewing me because of my disabilities. It's socked me honestly. I never expected my disabilities to be an advantage in getting work. I'm somewhat conflicted though. It is good I'm employed and my employer is very good about trying to support me in work. But I do feel somewhat infantalised. I don't think I would be treated the same way if I hadn't disclosed my disabilities. I'm not planing to look for work for a long time and will focus on trying to educate my boss so he understands he doesn't have to baby me at work. But I'm now super interested in others experience. Am I alone in being hired because I have a disability? Am I alone in being treated like I need my hand held for everything? I doubt it but I would be interested to here others stories if you would be willing to share.

Barltik2065 September 5th, 2023

@HatsEatYou

“Am I alone in being hired because I have a disability?”