Skip to main content Skip to bottom nav

a little question

phuntphunt January 15th, 2023

it’s the beginning of a new semester for me, and we have to form groups of 4 for this module that i’m taking. all my friends are grouped. when i approached people if they want to group with me, they are either grouped or intending to quit the module eventually.

right now i’m stuck with people whom i have no clue who they are. how do i approach them? how do i work with them?

contacting people whom i’ve never met before for the first time gives me really huge anxiety, like i cry, break down, take one steps forward and a few steps back.

is there anything i can do to overcome this situation?

innateJoy9602 January 15th, 2023

@phuntphunt

Group work can be tough to navigate, and I get having anxiety for it. I’m also a student and have come across a similar situation. Personally, I’ve found it helpful to email everyone and asking what role/section they would like to take on. But, I understand how initiating the conversation can be overwhelming. It helps to remind yourself that perhaps everyone all is also in the same spot, bit nervous and could be appreciative to have some direction to get started. 💜

learn2improve January 16th, 2023

@phuntphunt

It's normal to feel anxious when reaching out to people you've never met or don't know well. My school years were half a life ago (48 y/o now), and still to this day when meeting a new group of people (not so much with individuals), I get sweaty palms and gut-wrenching feelings.

Now, I do have a few tricks and coping strategies that I developed over the years. A couple of disclaimers though:
  • Even when I apply them “by the book” sometimes it still doesn’t work : ( and I cannot tell why. One of “those days”, I guess