Skip to main content Skip to bottom nav

Advice on learning social skills

C321 December 4th, 2016

Hi. This may be a little long, i am looking for advice...I have been struggling with social anxiety for at least 5 years. I went through high school(and actually most of my life) as an extremely quiet person and at some point the shyness turned into social anxiety. In high school i had a core group of about 3 friends i had known since early elementry school and i never really learned how to talk comfortablely with new people. Now i am in 2nd year university and am overwhelmed with all the new people and am struggling with making new friends.

I go to a couple of groups and the people are friendly but i am so awkward to talk to because i am not good at carrying a natural conversation or letting my guard down. I realized tonight just how visible my discomfort can be, as a couple people causally asked about my home life(which by the way is great, i have a fantastically supportive family who are the only people i can relax and be myself around).

I hardly even let my guard down for my 3 good high school friends, it takes me so long to trust someone enough to let them see me relaxed and for me to comfortably share my opinions. When i talk to new people my thoughts come out jumbled because i am so nervous. I am so scared of judgement and have such underdeveloped social skills. I dont know what to do. I know it will take practice but how do i start?

ProSupport December 4th, 2016

@C321 I know this must be really tough for you to deal with, and I'm glad you reached out to 7Cups for help. It's really brave of you that you shared your experiences so honestly.

It takes some time and hard work, but social anxiety can definitely be reduced if you receive the right help. I think you might find this awesome guide useful in terms of understanding the mechanisms of social anxiety. It also offers a lot of tips on how to cope with it. https://www.7cups.com/social-anxiety/