Skip to main content Skip to bottom nav

Hello

MostlyQuiet February 22nd, 2023

Hi, I’m 41, and I feel like I’m brand new to life all the time. I can’t seem to catch up ever

purplelady568 February 22nd, 2023

@MostlyQuiet Hi, welcome here. I'm a similar age, and I agree that life can often feel overwhelming, especially with all the responsibilities and obligations that are placed on us, by society, by our families, or which we place on ourselves. I also recognize that some days are harder than others! Here at 7cups, we want to encourage each other and lift up others, so that no one feels quite so alone.

If you'd like to elaborate more about what you are going through, you can feel free to do so here in the comments. Alternatively, if you'd like talk things out with someone 1-1, please reach out to myself or another listener. https://www.7cups.com/BrowseListeners/

DutchMike February 22nd, 2023

@MostlyQuiet hi im also 41, welcome to new life 😊

MostlyQuiet OP February 22nd, 2023

Thanks for the smiley! It made me smile

I don’t know how to explain it, but every day I wake up and everything is unfamiliar. Some of it makes sense, I lost my job, marriage, home, and siblings all within a very short period of time, and maybe I’m just still in shock from all of that but it was like 6 years ago.

Some of it doesn’t make sense because it’s the way things have always been, but I’m just baffled by everyday things to the point where I am feeling like I got off at the wrong reality or something.

Also, I just want to say thank you for being so warm and empathetic. I feel very lucky to live in a time and place where I can connect on a mental and emotional level with people I probably will never see, and where it’s okay to not be okay for a while.

Social services in the US may not be robust enough, but I’m not homeless yet and I’m so grateful for that, sitting here listening to the rain.

purplelady568 February 23rd, 2023