Skip to main content Skip to bottom nav

Apprenticeship - doubting a major decision

alcre January 21st

Hi Everyone, I hope you are having a lovely weekend! 😊

I am a degree apprentice (work+postgrad integrated) and I made a decision at the end of last year, but it is the end of January and I keep doubting myself... and I wondered if you could give me a bit of a push/ encouragement to just finally crack on and do it? Feel free to ignore the essay and just refer to the summary 😉.

Summary:

- MArchD, architecture degree apprentice.

- Discontented about the lack of support and mentorship in the workplace, despite contractual obligations, over the last 2 years.

- Lack of interest from the side of the "mentor" - canceled/ignored meetings, dismissed concerns (ethical + over work projects & resourcing), mocked ideas, pushed into an unwanted, brain-numbing specialization, etc.

- No support/ teaching, mostly just tasks with "do it" instead of direction/advice.

- "Mentor" = team manager = a lying, gaslighting jerk.

- Blocked development opportunities. Underpaid.

- 5 employees, mostly seniors, left in 2 years. Very fresh team atm.

- Decided to request a transfer to another office within the corporation.

- Keep doubting and in freeze mode - how to get over myself and just crack on?

-------------

Long version:

As mentioned, I am a degree apprentice (MArchD, architecture major) working for a corporation, so I have an integrated work-university program with assignments and projects for the university alongside normal work projects and practical learning. However, I have encountered some difficulties with my contracted "mentor"/team manager ever since I started 2 years ago.

I am not expecting anyone to be my mentor in the workplace and teach me practical skills anymore, even if it has been written down in the contract. Being given a new task and told "just do it" with no direction has become a norm and I am now proficient at teaching myself on the job.