Skip to main content Skip to bottom nav

I really need help with school

Natta November 8th, 2014

I'm having SUCH a hard time studying. I'm a straight A student (but not a straight person haha just had to add that because it felt too weird putting "I'm" and "straight" in the same sentence without "not" in between) and I had a period of time (still in it) where I've been skipping school a lot for numerous reasons. Usually when I do this it doesn't affect my grades, and I have the highest grades and probably biggest academic ego of everyone in my school. My high grades are a source of pride for me but also of discomfort because I can never show them to any of my friends without them feeling bad about themselves. My iPad I got from school went missing, and I couldn't do any of the assignments for two weeks. Now I am behind on 19 assignments and exams, and I don't know what to do. When I try to study, I just procrastinate or work so slowly or just don't know where to start. I'm aiming for Ivy League and I need study tips. Can anyone give me their best tricks, or have you been where I am now?

smileforawhile November 9th, 2014

I'm so proud of you for obtaining such high marks. I think we all struggle with our own study habits at one time or another. You're definitely not alone. Have you tried going somewhere quiet where you can't get distracted and then return are forced to study? Maybe find ways to make studying more fun? (I use colorful note cards and pens haha). Have you ever tried rewarding yourself? Like if you study for X amount of time, then you can do something you want to for X amount of time? I hope you find a way that helps you stay focused when studying. Good luck and remember that doing your best is certainly good enough!

Natta OP November 9th, 2014