Skip to main content Skip to bottom nav

I am numb and broken after husband cheated

ArtemisElf December 29th, 2020

Easter 2020, started when I found my husband's phone unlocked with a message alert. For whatever reason, I opened it...I opened the message. I suppose I expected something mundane. A family member or friend. Instead, it was an "I love you" and a "I miss the way you f***ed me" from his old coworker. I look through every message, vid, and pic. Its been going on half of our marriage. Time stopped. Everything hurt.

Fast forward to today. We had a big fight. He thinks I hate him because I am not physically affectionate. I havent been in a long time. I tell him I cant be. He doesn't understand. I cant. I dont FEEL anything. I am haunted endlessly by the affair. The memories. The lies. I feel no attraction or affection for anyone or anything. I used to be a writer and artist. I havent been able to so either since Easter. Im unfocused, tired, and empty all the time. Sometimes I feel sad, frustrated, even angry...but nothing else.

It is like I slipped into the void. I wonder if I have a sort of PTSD from his affair. Is that a thing? I care about him. I think I love him still but my God, everything is numb and empty so much so that I'm not sure if I can honestly say that I love him when all I feel is nothing.

The nothing reached everything. How I feel for my family, friends, pets...my self. I dont know how I feel because I dont feel at all.

Am I crazy? What is wrong with me?

LighterDay68 December 29th, 2020

@ArtemisElf