Skip to main content Skip to bottom nav

Trouble Creating and Maintaining Healthy Friendships

TealTempest27 September 13th, 2020

Hi everyone!

I'm Teal and I'm new to 7 Cups.

My longest and closest childhood friendship was with a very controlling person, we were friends from when I was 7 or 8 until a huge blowout at 20 years old. The rest of my friends revealed they always felt our friendship was unhealthy but were scared to say anything to me.

Looking back I realized how much I experienced gaslighting and manipulation and how much of my friend's damage had been passed on to me.
This being my most influential friendship I experienced a deep feeling of betrayal looking back. Since then I have struggled with self isolation and difficulties forming healthy friendships.

I've been in therapy for a few years now and learning about healthy relationships has helped me understand what I went through more clearly, but I still struggle with healthy boundaries, believing that I am unwanted easily, having difficulties trusting others, or bonding too quickly with new people. I constantly question if actions are red flags, if my own behavior is appropriate or not, and long for a comfortable connection.
Being in quarantine has made isolation worse of course.

I hope to learn more from all of you members and listeners and maybe flex some social muscles that will have me a bit more comfortable as I can get out in the world again!

Sending love to all of you!

Teal

Tyedyedbutterfly65 September 13th, 2020

@TealTempest27 I am so relate to how to handle relationships and with friends can be so hard for them and me ..

I am the type that gives and gives and it seems people love to take and take.. we can spend years with someone and think we know them and find out we really don't....

I have learned to put me first and then them because they worse me out and some still can .. I think it comes down to setting healthy boundaries for you and for them .