Skip to main content Skip to bottom nav

Living with Hypothyroidism and/or Hyperthyroidism

AnimationGirl April 26th, 2016

I'm new to 7cups and I'm just kind of roaming the forums. Looking at the chronic pain & illness forum, I'm curious if anyone lives with

At age 5 I was diagnosed with Graves' Disease (hyperthyroidism), and I've struggled in many ways to try and get my thyroid levels to a point where I was able to feel...normal. Not sleeping, flashing between hot/cold, chronic pain from having a weak body at such a young age was an issue...especially since I also had to struggle with developing social skills (I lived in southern Germany the first half of my childhood, then moved to America where I was relentlessly bullied mentally and physically until 10th grade...it was the turn of the century, so school protection from bullying really wasn't a thing).
At age 13 I had a proceedure done to remiss my thyroid into hypothyroidism, which I've been living with since. It's been...a struggle in a different way. The fluxuations of controlling my thyroid has led to the development of many issues with my mental health: depression, anxiety/OCD, on top of the other chronic issues I deal with due to the disease itself.

I'm curious if anyone else on here suffers from hypo or hyperthyroidism? Graves/Basedow or Hashimoto's disease? I've never met anyone else (under 55) with my condition, so it's been a bit hard to find people who relate, ya know?

Noemiigonzalez27 April 26th, 2016

@AnimationGirl I'm new to 7 cups as well. I'm only 15 and I know what its like to be bullied . I'm here because of stress, anxiety, and eating disorders. And I feel like I can't talk to any of my family members because they wouldn't understand. I'm really young to be doing this but I need the help. anyways, If this doesn't help me, I hope it helps you.

MLB5g April 26th, 2016

@AnimationGirl

I'm 38 with Graves Disease diagnosed 5 years ago. It can be difficult to manage. I understand how you feel.