Skip to main content Skip to bottom nav

Dealing with depression as a college student

courageousNectarine1602 October 27th, 2022

Hi. I’m a second year college student, my grades have been declining over the past few months due to my severe depression. I often feel worthless and emotionally drained, so it’s very difficult for me to study. I’m writing my finals in a few days lol, and I’m going to fail, because I only know half of my syllabus. Anyway, It’s sad to think that I was once an A student. I can’t decipher my emotions, I don’t know what’s happening in my brain. My mood can go from angry to sad to happy in minutes, I’m scared that I might be dealing with a more serious mental illness. I’m not happy with the life I’m living, I often daydream about what life could’ve been like if it was just how I wanted it to be. This is a big problem for me because when I finally make a friend, I tell them that made up version of my life and not the real thing. I don’t know why I do this, anyone experiencing something similar?

anxietywarrior23 October 27th, 2022

@courageousNectarine1602

sorry you are struggling with depression and your grades are suffering. I am sure you can find a friend and be yourself.

courageousNectarine1602 OP October 28th, 2022

Thank you ❤️

bestVase7265 October 28th, 2022

I have not experienced something similar recently, but I am a college professor who works with first year students and I can tell you that it happens ALL the time.

Let me give you some of the advice that I give them - be sure that you are eating and drinking water regularly, get outside as much as you can for study breaks, be kind to yourself - brain fog from depression is serious business, and find someone to talk to - your college has a counseling center probably - USE IT! NOW! Such feelings only get worse if you try to repress them.

You will find tons of other people in your shoes. You aren't alone.@courageousNectarine1602

courageousNectarine1602 OP October 28th, 2022