Skip to main content Skip to bottom nav

Birthday-related depression

missellencat October 30th, 2016

(This is my first time making a new post so I hope I'm doing it correctly and have everything in the right places.)

My 29th birthday is on November 2nd and I'm absolutely dreading it. Ever since I was 15 I've always felt like such a failure around my birthday. Like I'm a failure because I haven't taken myself out of this world yet. I feel guilty, like I've spent another year using up basic human resources that could be better used by people that can actually function in society. I feel bad that I've allowed myself to live this long.

Does anyone else get this sort of feeling around their birthday?
AndrewACT October 30th, 2016

@missellencat hey there. My experience is a little different, but I always feel incredibly down on my birthday, feeling like there's no reason for anyone to celebrate me, but at the same time wishing desperately that I was worth celebrating.
I'm really sorry you get that way on your birthday. I'm sure that's rough both for you and others around you. I hope you'll hang in there until this birthday is over. I'm glad you're still here, a part of this caring community. I really hope you get through these next few weeks. Take care.

enthusiasticMoon1589 October 31st, 2016

I know exactly what you mean..

I get panic attacks and cry myself to sleep the night before. For me it's mainly because its a day where you're supposed to be happy and acting for a complete day just tires me out completely.

Try making it a relaxing day :) Make a list of whatever makes you feel comfortable, take the day off and do all of those things :) Read a book, bake your favorite cupcake, go dance, watch your fav movie, stuff like that.

Last time I made up an excuse for not celebrating it on the actually day, but a few days later. Then, on the day itself I was out camping with a stack of books next to me. Somehow that made celebrating the wrong date a lot better ;)