Skip to main content Skip to bottom nav

Depressed and Can't Find a Job

littleCurrent7762 July 20th, 2023

Hello. I'm a recent college graduate who has been searching for a job for over a month now. I literally spend about 8 hours a day dedicated to finding a job. I have two internships and two on-campus job experiences. I've had my resumes and cover letters reviewed by the career department of my college and they said they were excellent. But guess what? I can't get a SINGLE interview, unless you count the scam job. All my friends have jobs now except me and I can't figure out what I'm doing wrong. I'm trying to apply to places where I have experience but I still don't hear a word back. I feel so useless and I feel like I am letting my partner down. I'm becoming a financial burden. I swear I am a dedicated, hard worker, but nobody is willing to give me a shot. It's been making me so depressed, I end up staring at my computer screen, and doubt I am even good enough. I've started to get desperate and looking at jobs like night stocker or waitress. I don't know if anyone else is struggling out there, it can feel very lonely, especially when all your friends talk about their jobs.

MeaningfulSilence July 20th, 2023

@littleCurrent7762

Hi there, sorry for the current situation. Sometimes it can be difficult to find a job, we aren't living in ideal times. I wonder if your friends have found something in your same field because they come from same type of graduation? If so maybe they can give you tips or info about the company they work for, in case the company needs for more workers?

If talking with them is becoming stressful, consider if you can have me time moments focusing in work research and your partner. No need to spend time listening for tells that put you down.

Said that, try not to give up, the beginning can be difficult but at a point you also will find the opportunity to work!