Skip to main content Skip to bottom nav

Panic attacks have taken away my education and my home.

costalot March 31st, 2016

Hi guys! My name is Hailee. Until yesterday, I was a university student. I wanted to be a teacher. Now, that's not going to happen. I came in with an Associate's degree, so I started college as a junior. The first quarter, I failed a class due to poor attendance. I thought it was just an adjustment thing, and I'd be fine. I knew anxiety may have had a lot to do with it, but I didn't admit it to myself at the time. The following quarter, I did great, with an overall GPA above 3.0 (none of my professors that quarter graded attendance). My third quarter, I fell apart, and I began the slow process of admitting to myself I might have a problem.

The fall of my second year, my anxiety had gotten so bad that I found myself frequently contemplating suicide. I didn't realize it at the time, but I had started to have panic attacks. I withdrew from my classes, vowing that I would use the remainder of the quarter to go get help. Instead, I fell into myself and barely left the house until the next quarter started January of this year. The panic attacks were so severe that I would have them three to five times a day, usually on my way to class, or during. In the middle of the quarter, I knew I had missed too much class and forced myself to go despite the panic attack. I spent the entire classtime shaking, scratching myself, pulling my hair, and picking at my skin. I felt outside of myself. I could see my professor and the students immediately around me staring. I was so scared and traumatized - I felt like I had finally lost it and gone insane. After class, without speaking to anyone, I boarded a bus to the city, with the intention of jumping off a bridge. I did not do it. Instead, I finally brought myself in to the counseling office on-campus.