Skip to main content Skip to bottom nav

Job or mental health?

amiablePal9825 March 11th, 2021

So I guess I'm writing here looking to see if anyone has been in a similar situation or knows anyone who's been though this. I work in social care which is A very high stress environment but I've been doing it for two years and I've always loved it. A few months ago I was moved to a different location in my job and I'm really struggling. At the start I thought I wasn't giving myself enough time to settle in but now a few months in I feel worse than ever.
It's starting to take an effect on my mental health and my anxiety is at an all time high. I've been experiencing sleepless nights, panic attacks, and weight loss from vomiting. My shifts are 24 hours and I spend the entire time trying not to cry, shaking, or physically getting sick from the stress.
I feel like my entire life is made up of being anxious in work or being at home anxious about going into work.
I'm at the stage when I'm debating handing in my notice and just leaving myself with no job. The idea of being stuck with no job and only my savings to support myself is making me anxious but I honestly can't imagine having to work their any longer.
I'm afraid the state of my mental health is just going to keep getting worst if I stay but im also afraid to just up and leave because that all sounds so over the top to me.
I guess I'm looking for guidance, or reassurance or something along those lines because I'm afraid I'm going to be stuck feeling trapped in this anxiety bubble forever.

thehibernator March 11th, 2021

@amiablePal9825 my take is that if your job is damaging you mental health, you need go find a job that doesn't.

agreeableHickory9108 March 11th, 2021