Skip to main content Skip to bottom nav

Has having a job helped you overcome your addiction?

imightlikegirls January 22nd

Hi guys! I'm majoring in social work and am currently doing an investigation into the benefits that jobs have for people who struggle with addictions.

Could you tell me how being employed has helped you to stay sober or consume less? Or has your work caused you to consume more?

If you could add the substance that would be amazing, thank you so much!!

toughTiger6481 January 27th

@imightlikegirls

Looks like no one answered .... i am not an addict but married to a recovering alcoholic  .....  i feel having a job helped him from getting much worse when he was drinking.... 

he knew he could not drink heavy on days he would need to go to work the next day but made weekends or vacations *** for us around him....

I do not think it is all about a job ................ but an attitude.... not a one size fits all application.    

The thing that can help is a sense of responsibility and not wanting to risk more by losing an income .... while others the substance was more important and they would let themselves be fired or quit etc....  

wtvrsclvr January 31st

@imightlikegirls